Megan

Megan.jpgIMG_6219

What was your major in undergrad?

Biomedical Science at Texas A&M. Whoop!

What do you think the strongest and weakest part of your application was? 

Strongest– I had lots of experience outside of medicine doing things that I really really loved: working summers at camp, leading small groups for a Christian organization at school, bible studies, and volunteering with disadvantaged kids in my city.
Weakest – I didn’t have much clinical experience. I had 119 hours when I applied, and most of that was volunteering at a clinic taking vitals.

Why did you think camp made you a strong applicant? 

Ah, camp. I am really passionate about summer camp. It was simultaneously the best and hardest thing I have ever done. I learned a lot about service, humility, and what it means to put others needs ahead of your own. I got good at connecting with strangers. I had to learn to manage responsibility and healthy ways to deal with frustrations. I used stories from camp in my interviews whenever I got a questions like “Tell me about a time when you were stressed and how you dealt with it” (Answer: one time a camper cried because she hated her shoes while we were at an activity and I switched shoes with her). I think that schools like to see that you have other interests besides medicine and that you make time for the things you care about.

What was hardest about applying?

I was so unprepared for the interviews. I didn’t do anything to practice so I just showed up thinking I could charm some people. And then the were tough and I bawled in my car after 2 of 3 of them.

Any last tips for applicants and those interested in PA school?

Don’t get discouraged if you are waitlisted! I know plenty of people who were waitlisted and got in as late as April. I got off the waitlist in March.

Leave a Reply

