1 John 4:19

“We love because He first loved us.” – 1 John 4:19

PA School can be a dark, lonely experience sometimes…even when you’re surrounded by 50+ brilliant and caring peers around you.   In the darkness of my room with just my desk lamp and laptop open to a powerpoint I just began, I often ask myself, “How did I get here? Why am I doing this?”

It’s easy to get caught up in what the world calls “success,”, whether it be your salary, your GPA, or the number of letters you have after your name, and when the creeping fear of failure or not good being good enough unexpectedly swipes your mind in the late nights of studying,  it cripples you.

In this post, I’d like to give a shoutout to my girls in community group! They’ve encouraged and loved me with biblical truths and have reminded me of the Lord’s character and promises through scripture. They have watched me cry, watch me have a mental break out, sob in my hands (PA School stress does that to you ok, judgement free zone here), and through it all, they have encouraged and believed in me.

img_0514

Everyone has those sneaky thoughts that crawl into their minds late at night. But reader, let me encourage you with this – we didn’t go into the medicine for the glamor or fame, we go into medicine for those who are hurt and scared, and we equip our minds with knowledge  in hopes of using it for others to ease their pain and love them. We went into medicine to love others, because we have been loved first.

Leave a Reply

