1 Corinthians 9:24-26

I like to sprinkle this blog with Jesus stuff because I’m a Christian and I need reminders just as much as the next person in grad school who is NOT feeling it. I am flawed, filled with many emotions and doubts, and feel the same feelings you feel when it comes to school – depression, anxiety, anger, etc. Let’s be honest…the whole process of finally becoming a doctor, nurse, physical therapist, pharmacist, physician assistant, getting our master’s or doctorate, is a very long and “ugh” process. I wish I could say that I loved all of my classes and everything is great, but I have my doubts in myself and capabilities.

This brings me to 1 Corinthians 9:24-26, and what it means to me.

24 Don’t you realize that in a race everyone runs, but only one person gets the prize? So run to win! 25 All athletes are disciplined in their training. They do it to win a prize that will fade away, but we do it for an eternal prize. 26 So I run with purpose in every step. I am not just shadowboxing.

  • 24: How cool is it that we as humans made it into an incredibly tough program. Despite the program you’re in, getting into graduate school is a competitive process. Rejoice that you are in the program (even though there are times you wanna yell WTF)! A classmate’s mom was once listening to our struggles and her motherly response was along the lines of this: “Yes, I’m sure it’s hard. But not everyone even have an opportunity to go through this.” UGH, so true. It’s hard to see school in that light, but there’s truth in it.
  • 25: Trust that we’re in that program for a BIGGER PURPOSE – Serving the Lord.
  • 26:  All the reading, notes, tests, it’s with a purpose…even if sometimes it feels like you’re being unfairly assessed. It’s for the greater purposes of glorifying the Lord. Let all of those tests/quizzes be assessments of your hands/feet you will one day use to serve those who are hurting.

School stinks…but don’t give up.  You are bigger than that test/quiz/OSCE you’re going to take because you’re here for a reason.

 

Leave a Reply

